[Action Alert] Last Chance on Amendment for Change Lanes to Pass

In the next several days, the Iowa House will debate Senate File 424.  This bill strikes the “or red reflector” portion of the law that requires lights for riding a bicycle at night.  We like lights and we wish more people would choose to ride with lights.

 

If the law is going to require people riding bicycles at night to have some extra responsibility, wouldn’t it be fair if motorists had the responsibility to change lanes to pass bicycles? Rep. Kressig has filed amendment H1187.  It is already in the code that motorists have to pass on the opposite side of the road and cannot drive in more than one lane. WE NEED YOU TO ASK YOUR REPRESENTATIVE TO SUPPORT HOUSE AMENDMENT H1187 MAKE IT CLEAR TO CHANGE LANES TO PASS BICYCLES.

 

Send one simple email to your Iowa Representative.  We have pasted the list of House members below.  Pick out your Representative and send an email.  If you are not sure who your representative is, click for a quick search.

 

Some great points to cover in your email:

  • 84% of bicycle crashes happen during the daytime.
  • In 2013, 2% (7 crashes) occurred because the person wasn’t visible.  In 2014, that number was zero.
  • 50% of bicycle/motor vehicle crashes are at non-intersections
  • One of the top causes of bicycle/motor vehicle crashes is failure of drivers to yield, according to Iowa DOT traffic safety.
  • DOT has already changed drivers manual to reflect change lanes to pass a bicycle.
  • Change Lanes to ​P​ass is easier to enforce, teach, and learn.
  • Cars cannot legally split lanes, but often do at the peril of bicyclists.
  • We believe clear statutory language on safe passing would help reduce the 118 bicycle/vehicle collisions that occurred in 2014.
  • We believe when safe passing laws are taught in drivers education and have solid enforcement, the laws can save lives of people who ride bicycles.

 

We urge you to adopt H1187 and pass Senate File 424 with language that reflects “changing lanes to pass bicycles.”

 

 

House Ako Abdul-Samad 35 Democrat Polk ako.abdul-samad@legis.iowa.gov
House Marti Anderson 36 Democrat Polk marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
House Rob Bacon 48 Republican Story rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov
House Chip Baltimore 47 Republican Boone chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
House Clel Baudler 20 Republican Adair clel.baudler@legis.iowa.gov
House Terry C. Baxter 8 Republican Hancock terry.baxter@legis.iowa.gov
House Bruce Bearinger 64 Democrat Fayette bruce.bearinger@legis.iowa.gov
House Liz Bennett 65 Democrat Linn liz.bennett@legis.iowa.gov
House Deborah L. Berry 62 Democrat Black Hawk deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov
House Brian Best 12 Republican Carroll brian.best@legis.iowa.gov
House Darrel Branhagen 55 Republican Winneshiek darrel.branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
House Timi Brown-Powers 61 Democrat Black Hawk darrel.branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
House Josh Byrnes 51 Republican Mitchell josh.byrnes@legis.iowa.gov
House Gary Carlson 91 Republican Muscatine gary.carlson@legis.iowa.gov
House Dennis M. Cohoon 87 Democrat Des Moines gary.carlson@legis.iowa.gov
House Peter Cownie 42 Republican Polk peter.cownie@legis.iowa.gov
House Dave Dawson 14 Democrat Woodbury dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
House Dave Deyoe 49 Republican Story dave.deyoe@legis.iowa.gov
House Cecil Dolecheck 24 Republican Ringgold cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov
House Jack Drake 21 Republican Cass jack.drake@legis.iowa.gov
House Nancy Dunkel 57 Democrat Dubuque nancy.dunkel@legis.iowa.gov
House Abby Finkenauer 99 Democrat Dubuque abby.finkenauer@legis.iowa.gov
House Dean Fisher 72 Republican Tama dean.fisher@legis.iowa.gov
House John Forbes 40 Democrat Polk john.forbes@legis.iowa.gov
House Greg Forristall 22 Republican Pottawattamie greg.forristall@legis.iowa.gov
House Joel Fry 27 Republican Clarke joel.fry@legis.iowa.gov
House Ruth Ann Gaines 32 Democrat Polk ruthann.gaines@legis.iowa.gov
House Mary Gaskill 81 Democrat Wapello mary.gaskill@legis.iowa.gov
House Tedd Gassman 7 Republican Winnebago tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
House Pat Grassley 50 Republican Butler pat.grassley@legis.iowa.gov
House Stan Gustafson 25 Republican Madison stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
House Chris Hagenow 43 Republican Polk chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
House Chris Hall 13 Democrat Woodbury chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov
House Curt Hanson 82 Democrat Jefferson curt.hanson@legis.iowa.gov
House Mary Ann Hanusa 16 Republican Pottawattamie maryann.hanusa@legis.iowa.gov
House Greg Heartsill 28 Republican Marion greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
House David E. Heaton 84 Republican Henry dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
House Lisa Heddens 46 Democrat Story lisa.heddens@legis.iowa.gov
House Lee Hein 96 Republican Jones lee.hein@legis.iowa.gov
House Jake Highfill 39 Republican Polk jake.highfill@legis.iowa.gov
House Steven Holt 18 Republican Crawford steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov
House Bruce L. Hunter 34 Democrat Polk bruce.hunter@legis.iowa.gov
House Daniel A. Huseman 3 Republican Cherokee dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov
House Charles Isenhart 100 Democrat Dubuque charles.isenhart@legis.iowa.gov
House Dave Jacoby 74 Democrat Johnson david.jacoby@legis.iowa.gov
House Megan Jones 2 Republican Clay megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
House Ron Jorgensen 6 Republican Woodbury ron.jorgensen@legis.iowa.gov
House Bobby Kaufmann 73 Republican Cedar bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
House Jerry A. Kearns 83 Democrat Lee jerry.kearns@legis.iowa.gov
House Daniel Kelley 29 Democrat Jasper dan.kelley@legis.iowa.gov
House Jarad J. Klein 78 Republican Washington jarad.klein@legis.iowa.gov
House Kevin Koester 38 Republican Polk kevin.koester@legis.iowa.gov
House John Kooiker 4 Republican Sioux john.kooiker@legis.iowa.gov
House Bob Kressig 59 Democrat Black Hawk bob.kressig@legis.iowa.gov
House John Landon 37 Republican Polk john.landon@legis.iowa.gov
House Vicki S. Lensing 85 Democrat Johnson vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
House Jim Lykam 89 Democrat Scott jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov
House Mary Mascher 86 Democrat Johnson mary.mascher@legis.iowa.gov
House Dave Maxwell 76 Republican Poweshiek dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov
House Charlie McConkey 15 Democrat Pottawattamie charlie.mcconkey@legis.iowa.gov
House Brian Meyer 33 Democrat Polk brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
House Helen Miller 9 Democrat Webster helen.miller@legis.iowa.gov
House Linda J. Miller 94 Republican Scott linda.miller@legis.iowa.gov
House Norlin Mommsen 97 Republican Clinton norlin.mommsen@legis.iowa.gov
House Brian Moore 58 Republican Jackson brian.moore@legis.iowa.gov
House Zach Nunn 30 Republican Polk zach.nunn@legis.iowa.gov
House Jo Oldson 41 Democrat Polk jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
House Rick Olson 31 Democrat Polk rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
House Scott Ourth 26 Democrat Warren scott.ourth@legis.iowa.gov
House Kraig Paulsen 67 Republican Linn kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
House Ross Paustian 92 Republican Scott ross.paustian@legis.iowa.gov
House Dawn E. Pettengill 75 Republican Benton dawn.pettengill@legis.iowa.gov
House Todd Prichard 52 Democrat Floyd todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
House Ken Rizer 68 Republican Linn ken.rizer@legis.iowa.gov
House Walt Rogers 60 Republican Black Hawk walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov
House Patti Ruff 56 Democrat Clayton patti.ruff@legis.iowa.gov
House Kirsten Running-Marquardt 69 Democrat Linn kirsten.running-marquardt@legis.iowa.gov
House Sandy Salmon 63 Republican Black Hawk sandy.salmon@legis.iowa.gov
House Thomas R. Sands 88 Republican Louisa tom.sands@legis.iowa.gov
House Mike Sexton 10 Republican Calhoun tom.sands@legis.iowa.gov
House Larry Sheets 80 Republican Appanoose larry.sheets@legis.iowa.gov
House David Sieck 23 Republican Mills david.sieck@legis.iowa.gov
House Mark D. Smith 71 Democrat Marshall mark.smith@legis.iowa.gov
House Chuck Soderberg 5 Republican Plymouth chuck.soderberg@legis.iowa.gov
House Art Staed 66 Democrat Linn art.staed@legis.iowa.gov
House Quentin Stanerson 95 Republican Linn quentin.stanerson@legis.iowa.gov
House Sharon S. Steckman 53 Democrat Cerro Gordo sharon.steckman@legis.iowa.gov
House Sally Stutsman 77 Democrat Johnson sally.stutsman@legis.iowa.gov
House Rob Taylor 44 Republican Dallas rob.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
House Todd E. Taylor 70 Democrat Linn todd.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
House Phyllis Thede 93 Democrat Scott phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov
House Linda L. Upmeyer 54 Republican Cerro Gordo linda.upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov
House Guy Vander Linden 79 Republican Mahaska guy.vander.linden@legis.iowa.gov
House Ralph C. Watts 19 Republican Dallas ralph.watts@legis.iowa.gov
House Beth Wessel-Kroeschell 45 Democrat Story beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
House John H. Wills 1 Republican Dickinson john.wills@legis.iowa.gov
House Cindy Winckler 90 Democrat Scott cindy.winckler@legis.iowa.gov
House Matt W. Windschitl 17 Republican Harrison matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
House Mary Lynn Wolfe 98 Democrat Clinton mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
House Gary Worthan 11 Republican Buena Vista gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

Unsubscribe here